NOTICE: Wealthy St. Road Closure 9/21/22-10/21/22. Click here for more details.
      

Recycling Center Open Hours

Join us for self-guided tours, see the sorting action up close, create upcycled crafts, ask your recycling questions, and more!

These free, open-house style events are great for any age and meant for smaller groups or individuals wishing to check out the Kent County Recycling & Education Center! So what is there to see and do during Recycling Center Open Hours?

  • Self-guided tours of the space and recycling sorting line
  • Create upcycled crafts
  • Play with our recycling toys and games including our bowling and jenga games!
  • Explore our recycling and waste exhibits throughout the Recycling & Education Center
  • Have your recycling and disposal questions answered in-person by our Waste Reduction Educators
  • And more!

Spend as much time as you’d like learning, creating, or interacting with staff to learn more about recycling and waste.  Want a preview of the event?  Check it out here!

Please drop-in during the designated hours of the scheduled event according to our annual schedule below.

Recycling & Education Center Open Hours Schedule

2022 Schedule

January

  • Monday 1/10/2022 from 1:00-5:00pm
  • Monday 1/24/2022 from 1:00-5:00pm
  • Monday 1/31/2022 from 1:00-5:00pm

February

  • Monday 2/7/2022 from 1:00-5:00pm
  • Monday 2/14/2022 from 1:00-5:00pm
  • Monday 2/21/2022 from 1:00-5:00pm
  • Monday 2/28/2022 from 1:00-5:00pm

March

  • Monday 3/7/2022 from 1:00-5:00pm
  • Monday 3/14/2022 from 1:00-5:00pm
  • Monday 3/21/2022 from 1:00-5:00pm
  • Monday 3/28/2022 from 1:00-5:00pm

April

  • Monday 4/2/2022 from 1:00-5:00pm
  • Monday 4/9/2022 from 1:00-5:00pm
  • Monday 4/16/2022 from 1:00-5:00pm
  • Monday 4/22/2022 from 1:00-5:00pm

May

  • Monday 5/7/2022 from 1:00-5:00pm
  • Monday 5/14/2022 from 1:00-5:00pm
  • Monday 5/21/2022 from 1:00-5:00pm
  • Monday 5/28/2022 from 1:00-5:00pm

June

  • Monday 6/6/2022 from 1:00-5:00pm
  • Monday 6/13/2022 from 1:00-5:00pm
  • Monday 6/20/2022 from 1:00-5:00pm
  • Monday 6/27/2022 from 1:00-5:00pm

July

  • Monday 7/11/2022 from 1:00-5:00pm
  • Monday 7/18/2022 from 1:00-5:00pm
  • Monday 7/25/2022 from 1:00-5:00pm

August

  • Monday 8/1/2022 from 12:00-4:00pm
  • Monday 8/8/2022 from 12:00-4:00pm
  • Monday 8/15/2022 from 12:00-4:00pm
  • Monday 8/22/2022 from 12:00-4:00pm
  • Monday 8/29/2022 from 12:00-4:00pm

September

  • Monday 9/5/2022 — CANCELLED (Labor Day)
  • Saturday 9/10/2022 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 9/12/2022 from 12:00-4:00pm
  • Monday 9/19/2022 from 12:00-4:00pm
  • Monday 9/26/2022 — CANCELLED (Staff Training)

October

  • Monday 10/3/2022 from 12:00-4:00pm
  • Monday 10/10/2022 from 12:00-4:00pm
  • Monday 10/17/2022 from 12:00-4:00pm
  • Monday 10/24/2022 from 12:00-4:00pm
  • Monday 10/31/2022 from 12:00-4:00pm

November

  • Monday 11/7/2022 from 12:00-4:00pm
  • Monday 11/14/2022 from 12:00-4:00pm
  • Monday 11/21/2022 from 12:00-4:00pm
  • Saturday 11/26/2022 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 11/28/2022 from 12:00-4:00pm

December

  • Monday 12/5/2022 from 12:00-4:00pm
  • Monday 12/12/2022 from 12:00-4:00pm
  • Monday 12/19/2022 from 12:00-4:00pm
  • Monday 12/26/2022 — CANCELLED (Christmas Day observed)
2023 Schedule

January

  • Monday 1/2/2023 — CANCELLED (New Years Day)
  • Monday 1/9/2023
  • Monday 1/16/2023 — CANCELLED (Martin Luther King Jr Day)
  • Monday 1/23/2023
  • Monday 1/30/2023

February

  • Monday 2/6/2023
  • Monday 2/13/2023
  • Monday 2/20/2023
  • Monday 2/27/2023

March

  • Monday 3/6/2023
  • Monday 3/13/2023
  • Monday 3/20/2023
  • Monday 3/27/2023

April

May

June

July

August

September

October

November

December

Location

Kent County Recycling & Education Center
2nd floor
977 Wealthy SW
Grand Rapids, MI 49504