Recycling Center Open Hours

Join us for self-guided tours, see the sorting action up close, create upcycled crafts, ask your recycling questions, and more!

These free, open-house style events are great for any age and meant for smaller groups or individuals wishing to check out the Kent County Recycling & Education Center! So what is there to see and do during Recycling Center Open Hours?

  • Self-guided tours of the space and recycling sorting line
  • Create upcycled crafts
  • Play with our recycling toys and games including our bowling and jenga games!
  • Explore our recycling and waste exhibits throughout the Recycling & Education Center
  • Have your recycling and disposal questions answered in-person by our Waste Reduction Educators
  • And more!

Spend as much time as you’d like learning, creating, or interacting with staff to learn more about recycling and waste.  Want a preview of the event?  Check it out here!

Please drop-in during the designated hours of the scheduled event according to our annual schedule below.

Recycling & Education Center Open Hours Schedule

2023 Schedule

January

  • Monday 1/2/2023 — CANCELLED (New Years Day)
  • Monday 1/9/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 1/16/2023 — CANCELLED (Martin Luther King Jr Day)
  • Monday 1/23/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 1/30/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm

February

  • Monday 2/6/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 2/13/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 2/20/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm — NOTE: potential new machine installation so recycling sorting machines may or may not be running
  • Monday 2/27/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm

March

  • Monday 3/6/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 3/13/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 3/20/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 3/27/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm

April

  • Monday 4/3/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 4/10/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 4/17/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 4/24/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm

May

  • Monday 5/1/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 5/8/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 5/15/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 5/22/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 5/29/2023 — CANCELLED (Memorial Day)

June

  • Saturday 6/3/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 6/5/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 6/12/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 6/19/2023 — CANCELLED (Juneteenth)
  • Monday 6/26/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm

July

  • Monday 7/3/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 7/10/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 7/17/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 7/24/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 7/31/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm

August

  • Monday 8/7/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 8/14/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 8/21/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 8/28/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm

September

  • Monday 9/4/2023 — CANCELLED (Labor Day)
  • Saturday 9/9/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 9/11/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 9/18/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 9/25/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm

October

  • Monday 10/2/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 10/9/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 10/16/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 10/23/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 10/30/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm

November

  • Monday 11/6/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 11/13/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 11/20/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 11/27/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm

December

  • Monday 12/4/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 12/11/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 12/18/2023 from 9:00am-12:00pm
  • Monday 12/25/2023 — CANCELLED

Location

Kent County Recycling & Education Center
2nd floor
977 Wealthy SW
Grand Rapids, MI 49504